Starting point

Victoria, Hamburg-Mannheimer and Karstadt-Quelle insurance are combining to produce the new brand, ERGO. But: Does the world really need another insurance provider? Yet another provider talking in a language noone understands? Lacking transparency and excessively complex? No, the world has enough of those. What we need is the exact opposite.

Story

Instead of telling people what they need, we turn the tables, preferring to ask them what they want from their insurer: What worries and hardships do people have? What do they find genuinely helpful? What should an insurer provide? The aim: To establish ERGO not as a dictatorial brand but as a communication partner which treats its customers as equals.

Happy ending

We used the slogan “Versichern heißt verstehen” (“Insurance means understanding”) to get this message across – and turned the insurance industry on its head in the process. Making insurance customers and their needs the central focus proves to be an enormous success. The industry magazine “absatzwirtschaft” agrees and honours our leadership competency with its 2012 Marken-Award (Brand Award).

Ausgangslage

Victoria, Hamburg-Mannheimer und Karstadt-Quelle Versicherungen gehen in der neuen Marke ERGO auf. Aber: Braucht die Welt eine weitere Versicherung? Noch ein Anbieter, der unklar kommuniziert? Der intransparent wirkt und kompliziert? Nein, braucht die Welt nicht. Sondern das genaue Gegenteil.

Story

Statt den Versicherten zu sagen, was sie brauchen, drehen wir den Spieß um und fragen lieber nach, was sie wollen: Welche Sorgen und Nöte haben die Menschen? Was hilft ihnen wirklich weiter? Was muss eine Versicherung leisten? Das Ziel: ERGO nicht als diktatorische Marke, sondern als Gesprächspartner auf Augenhöhe zu etablieren.

Happy End

Mit „Versichern heißt verstehen“ haben wir dieses Ansatz auf den Punkt gebracht – und nebenbei die ganze Versicherungsbranche auf den Kopf gestellt. Es erweist sich als enormer Erfolgsfaktor, die Versicherten und ihre Bedürfnisse in den Mittelpunkt zu stellen. Das findet auch das Branchenblatt „absatzwirtschaft“ und würdigt unsere Leitung mit dem Marken Award 2012.