Starting point

The No. 1 European travel brand, TUI, was a company which had grown over a period of decades. As a result, it was not called TUI everywhere. For example, in Holland it was called Arke, in England it was called Thompson and in Sweden it was called Fritidsresor. In a first step towards more commonality, a uniform CD, including logo, was developed.

Prior to the merger of TUI AG and TUI Travel PLC, which would produce the world’s largest integrated tourism company, a repositioning and a new communications strategy are needed in order to produce an overall brand guide, this time in terms of the inherent values, to give the TUI brand the same emotional charge across the world and to ensure that the planned gradual unification under the TUI name can be realised in the various countries whilst minimising negative emotional reactions on the parts of consumers.

Story

Together with the marketing heads in each individual TUI country, we gradually develop the new position internally and outwardly. In the process, we develop, among other things, the famous claim designed, for all TUI countries, to send a smile around the world: TUI-Discover your smile. At the end of the process, there is a clear filmic commitment to a worldwide brand which helps millions of people all around the world to (re-)discover something really special in the most important weeks of the year: their smile.

Happy ending

In the internal transformation process, the strategy platform and the brand-story film also serve as an important motivation for TUI employees. Externally, the film is used where the brand wants to show what it stands for. And the claim? It remains today an emotional centrepiece of the brand worldwide.

Ausgangslage

Europas Reisemarke No.1, die TUI, war ein über Jahrzehnte gewachsenes Unternehmen. Und hieß deshalb nicht überall TUI. Sondern in Holland z.B. Arke, in England Thompson und in Schweden Fritidsresor. In einem ersten Schritt zu mehr Gemeinsamkeit hatte man ein einheitliches CD inkl. Logo entwickelt.

Rechtzeitig vor dem Zusammenschluss von TUI AG und TUI Travel PLC zum weltweit größten integrierten Touristikkonzern sollten nun auch Positionierung und Kommunikation neu ausgerichtet werden, um als weitere, diesmal inhaltliche, Markenklammer die Marke TUI überall auf der Welt gleichermaßen emotional aufzuladen und dafür zu sorgen, dass der schrittweise geplante Transformationsprozess hin zur einheitlichen TUI-Firmierung in den Ländern ohne emotionale Reibungsverluste für die jeweiligen Konsumenten abläuft.

Story

Gemeinsam mit den Marketingverantwortlichen der einzelnen TUI-Länder erarbeiten wir Schritt für Schritt die neue Positionierung nach innen und außen. Dabei entwickelten wir u.a. auch den berühmten Claim, der fortan für alle TUI-Länder ein Lächeln um die Welt schicken sollte: TUI-Discover your smile. Und am Ende des Prozesses stand ein klares filmisches Bekenntnis zu einer weltweiten Marke, die Millionen von Menschen rund um die Welt in deren wichtigsten Wochen des Jahres dabei hilft, etwas besonders Kostbares (wieder) zu entdecken: Ihr Lächeln.

Happy End

Im internen Transformationsprozess diente die Strategieplattform und der Brandstory-Film als wichtige Motivation für die TUI-Mitarbeiter. Extern kommt der Film zum Einsatz, wenn die Marke zeigen will, wofür sie steht. Und der Claim? Der ist bis heute weltweit ein emotionales Herzstück der Marke.